top of page
Subscribe

Thanks for submitting!

Clayton Young - Strength in Mentality

"It takes a lot to believe in yourself that last lap, to believe that you have a kick cause you have these races year after year where you gotta toe the line 3 or 4 hundred metres..."



Throughout the years of Clayton Young’s running career, from before high school to him running professional, mentality was the crucial factor for his success. Throughout his many experiences with and without running his strong mentality to want to excel always at a higher level pushed him to be just not a great individual runner but teammate, leader, and friend. Often times people look at prodigies and elite athletes for what the end product is but miss the journey along the way, which Clayton Young is a perfect example of.


From a young age Clayton Young would be competitive as an individual and on a competitive team. During his years at American Fork High school, the United States premiere distance running high school for the past decade, he learned not only how to become a great runner but a great person and teammate. “It was honestly a really, really positive experience, it’s where I learned a lot about teamwork and team building and how to build a big program. I was lucky enough to go to American Fork. … I think we had taken second at state the year before which I guess is a decent program, but we weren’t a national caliber team. Then my Freshmen year we had the goal to win state and then from their it kinda lifted fire enough that we really wanted to be contending. So my sophomore year was really when I broke out and I got really good.” Going to a school which was known as a state contender, Young helped push the bar higher with the guidance of his coach and a dedicated group of teammates. Having grown as a runner while the team grew at the same time made Clayton Young’s experience with running one that he could enjoy. “That was kinda the defining moment for me was seeing our program go from a good program to a great national caliber program.” This growth in his own running and the teams as well, lead to Clayton Young fielding offers from the top schools in the NCAA but things were not smooth for him his last year of track. “Sadly my senior year in track I was injured, but luckily I had run well enough my sophomore and Junior years that I was still heavily recruited.” Luckily for Young he had a well-earned track record to pursue track and field at the Division One level after accepting a scholarship with with Birmingham Young University(BYU).

While trying to decide which post-secondary school he would study and run at, Clayton Young would take into consideration many different personal principals. With many of his teammates heading to other colleges, Clayton Young found his own pathway that left a remarkable footprint on American Fork. “I was the first one that decided to go to BYU. When I was a Junior, there was five seniors on our varsity team that graduate and went to D1 schools but none of them chose BYU. I was the person to chose BYU so I was kinda a little bit nervous about that. Coach Timo Mostert spoke really well about BYU and spoke highly of Ed Eyestone but it was a little bit of a risk but it paid off. I think the team building we had learned and the leadership we had learned at American Fork definitely transferred over to BYU….” The traits that Clayton Young found at American Fork he would find them at BYU as well, making the school feel very much like home. Having to take a risk for the running aspect would be worth it as the school had other aspects outside of running that he wanted. “Finding a college for me where I new I would be happy even if running didn’t work out…[and] The other big thing was the social atmosphere, what kind of positive vibes, what kind a social atmosphere.” While BYU had what he wanted outside of running, there were many things the team had to offer that made the up and coming distance program appealing to Clayton Young. “When it comes down to running I think some of things that really pulled me towards BYU was because I came from a really great team at American Fork and I knew that being apart of a team made me an even better individual. I wanted to be part of a program that had a very good team, I didn’t wanna be the standout, I didn’t wanna be the star, I wanted to be part of a team and I knew that would make me the best individual I could be.” The team environment was what Clayton Young was looking for, somewhere that put the team first and individuals second. Throughout the whole recruiting process though Clayton Young said that most importantly he was looking for “just a great coach” which he found in Ed Eyestone.


After a strong high school running career where Clayton Young would win multiple national championships, he would start his transition to college running different then most other runners. Since Young was apart of The Church of Jesus Christ of Latter-day Saints which meant that he would have to serve a mission over the next two years he would being missing a considerable amount of training time that could impact hi success in the sport. “I decided to go straight out on my mission because I wanted to have all my college eligibility at one time so it wouldn’t be broken up. So for me I was definitely a little nervous coming back from my mission, especially since I was injured in high school my senior track season. It had really been a long time since I had competed on a high caliber level and I was worried about my injuries coming back, so it definitely took a lot of patience. I had gained 25 pounds on my mission, I wasn’t training nearly as much, my mental focus shifted a little bit, so it definitely took some time.” Having doubts whether he would return to his best Clayton Young would also have the challenge of returning from his mission during the middle of the school year rather then the end. “I think my process was a little bit different then most athletes that come to BYU simply because I got home from my mission in November, so I didn’t start school till January. … Most athletes coming back from missions or any athlete start training with the team over the summer. Where at BYU most of the missionaries come home in the summer and they kind of have a group that they can train with, and kinda grow with.” This slight difference made a difference for Clayton as he was able to get his fitness back quite quick but it would not last as long as most. “For me personally I got back in November, so I kinda got thrown to the wolves a little bit and I started hoping in workouts right away and it definitely paid off. I got back into shape fairly quickly, I think 6-8 weeks after I got back from my mission, I ran 4:24 which isn’t anything spectacular, for having not ran for 3 years that wasn’t bad at all.” After three years off from not competing, and not running frequently Clayton was starting to show that he was still a force to be reckon with in the distance running world. Quickly though after running a decent mile time, Young would start to see the affect of gaining fitness that fast. “By the time outdoor season rolled around I was definitely burnt out, I had kinda pushed myself to hard.” Needing some time to recover from the track season, Clayton Young would be back soon enough to show that his fitness was here to stay long term.

Having over half a year to now adjust to the team and training at BYU Clayton Young was ready to help create that same atmosphere and culture in college that he had with his high school team. “I think kinda like American Fork it was definitely a progression, so my freshmen year, well my redshirt freshmen year at BYU… we kinda set these goals, but it was kinda disappointing we got twelfth that year. By the time nationals came around I was on varsity but I was an alternate cause I had just started to burn myself out, I had just trained to hard.” After a disappointing year for Young and his teammates at the national meet, they were determined to come back the following years and show they could compete with the best in the country. “But there was this desire, this fire to get us onto the podium, so my sophomore year we took a run at it again and I think we took sixth place. So we definitely thought we could have done a little bit better but then they next year we came back and took third and then the next year we came back and took second and then just last year we came back and finally won the flipping thing.” Looking back on his time at BYU Clayton Young found that mindset and belief were the differences in transforming the program from a middle of the pack team at NCAA’s to a podium team year after year. “I think the changes in our training and stuff, once you get to that level it really isn’t about making drastic changes but it really is more about … these little things and a lot of it is your mindset and your belief of you know getting you and your teammates in the right mindset.” Having the team buy into the coaching and believing that they can be contenders at the highest level possible was a major factor in BYU and Clayton Young becoming champions.


While cross country saw Clayton Young and BYU gradually edge there way up the scoreboard year after year, on the track Young would be disappointed year after year. “There was definitely a lot of years of disappointment and you know its hard to say that yeah I went to nationals a lot which is a big accomplishment for a lot of people but yea I qualified for nationals in the 5k and 10k every year ever since I was a sophomore.” Through his first two years at the national championships, Young would be let down by missing an All-American spot in every race. “My sophomore and Junior year were kind of a disappointment honestly especially since I guess, I throw myself in the mix, I’d be their on the bell lap, and I would be ready to go and then the wheels would just fall off.” Not being able to finish these championship meets like he wanted with a big final lap was hard for Clayton Young, but he was putting in the work to try and fix this issue. During his time at BYU Young would work on his mental strength to try an run the last lap faster then everybody else; “It takes a lot to believe in yourself that last lap, to believe that you have a kick cause you have these races year after year where you gotta toe the line 3 or 4 hundred metres, it can kinda be like oh well, I’m not a kicker and that’s it , you can label yourself that but you kind of just have to work at it mentally… and just tell yourself yes I’m a kicker, yes I can kick.” This determination to get mentally stronger and to believe in himself led to his breakout senior season at BYU. “When I was finally able to close in the indoor 5k and take 3rd and at the NCAA 10k and close in a 55 second last lap.” These races were instrumental for Clayton Young’s career going forward once his eligibility in college was done.

In the midst of a stellar senior season Clayton Young was starting to realize that his original goal that was in the back of his head of turning professional was plausible option. “I think after I had done pretty well at NCAA indoors, I was kinda like maybe I can do this pro and I think it started right from when I was in high school.Well theirs really no point in me running in high school if I’m not going to do it in college and I kinda had that same mentality in college, well there’s really no reasoning to run in college, I mean yes running’s a fun lifestyle, you get a scholarship, … there’s really no point in me running in college if I’m not seriously considering going pro.” With this idea of always wanting to run to get to the next level in the sport, Clayton Young was now feeling confident that he could compete as a professional runner too. During his senior season the NCAA indoor 5k and outdoor 10k were able to create a better situation for him to turn professional. “Obviously winning the 10k opened the doors that had never been opened before so that’s when a couple more agents reached out.… It took me a week or two for me to decide, okay what agent is going to represent me best and also what agent is gonna most likely get me a contract that allows me to stay in Utah and to stay at BYU. Because for me personally I’m not your typical NCAA Champion, Bachelor, I mean I’m married, I have a wife, I have child, I’m in the masters program in the mechanical engineering program. So I just had a lot of things going for me in Utah to train, I had really good connection with Ed Eyestone and the team, so the more I can stay in this area the better.” These big performances at the end of his college career led Young be able to continue running at the highest level with support to live where he wanted and around those people and things that meant most to him, with the backing of a shoe brand. With not many shoe brands wanting athletes to train outside there already formed distance running groups, Clayton Young’s agent was able to find a suitor who was able to support his goals and ideas with Asics. “It was one of things that I love about Asics well they might not have a group they definitely support you in your element.Why change something that’s not broken right and so they were willing to take risks and a gamble on me.” With the backing from Asics to run professionally, Clayton Young was now able to have the best situation for himself to train at the highest level he can. “One of the big benefits of me staying here in Utah was the atmosphere, not only with schooling and family but my training partners and I could stay with my coach Ed Eyestone and I could also stick with my training partners Connor McMillian who’s and Adidas athlete that took third in the NCAA 10k… and then Jared Ward who’s an Olympic marathoner… and there’s a couple up and coming BYU athletes that are phenomenal athletes, Conner Mantz … and a lot former NXN champions like Cassy Clinger, Aiden Troutner.” Having this great atmosphere around Young had helped him get to this point and to potentially even higher levels in the future.


During Clayton Young's running career to this point he has showed that a strong mindset can lead to strong performances. Being able to stand by his principles to form a strong foundation of people, hobbies, and ideas has helped Young excel throughout his high school, college, and professional running days. Clayton Young is a great example of what it takes to get the end result of a prodigy, champion, and professional.


 

Direct Quotes via Clayton Young to Evan Smith via Phone Interview (June 2020).

Images via Clayton Young's Instagram and Getty Images.

87 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page